Home > Newsroom > News Archive

Please note: This article is part of the Cancer Center's News Archive and is here for historical purposes. The information and links may no longer be up-to-date.

Blayney elected ASCO president for 2009-2010 term

-added 3/6/08

Please note: The articles listed in the Cancer Center's News Archive are here for historical purposes. The information and links may no longer be up-to-date.

Ann Arbor - Douglas W. Blayney, M.D., medical director of the University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center, has been elected to become president of the American Society of Clinical Oncology for a one-year term beginning in June 2009. He will take office as president-elect during ASCO's 44th Annual Meeting in Chicago this June.

Douglas W. Blayney, M.D.
Douglas W. Blayney, M.D., former-medical director of the U-M Comprehensive Cancer Center
ASCO is the world's leading professional organization representing physicians who care for people with cancer. With more than 25,000 members, ASCO is committed to improving cancer care through scientific meetings, educational programs and peer-reviewed journals.

Dr. Blayney, an internationally recognized expert in oncology quality and informatics as well as hematologic malignancy, currently serves as professor of internal medicine at the University of Michigan Medical School. He joined U-M in 2003 from the Wilshire Oncology Medical Group, a private oncology practice in Pasadena, Calif., where he practiced for 17 years. He also served as an associate professor of clinical medicine at the University of Southern California, as well as a voluntary attending physician at the Los Angeles County General Hospital.

"I am honored to have been elected to serve as ASCO President, following in the very large footsteps of those who have served before me," Dr. Blayney said. "ASCO is an exceptional organization and I look forward to working alongside my esteemed colleagues on the Board of Directors to continue improving the care and treatment of those living with cancer."

"It will be my privilege and pleasure to work with the newly elected leadership, in particular, the newly elected President-Elect, Dr. Douglas Blayney," said Allen S. Lichter, M.D., chief executive officer of ASCO. "For over a decade, Dr. Blayney has committed his time and dedication to the Society through various volunteer and leadership positions. ASCO is fortunate to have such a highly qualified oncologist and dedicated ASCO member lead the Society's efforts to improve cancer care and prevention."

Since joining ASCO in 1983, Dr. Blayney has demonstrated a comprehensive record of service to the society. He served on the ASCO Board of Directors from 1996 to 1999 and has been a member of The ASCO Cancer Foundation Board of Directors since 1999. Dr. Blayney has also been a member of the editorial boards of the Journal of Clinical Oncology and the Journal of Oncology Practice. He currently serves as editor in chief of JOP.

In addition, Dr. Blayney has served on the Clinical Practice Committee in various capacities since 1993, the Cancer Education Committee as chair of the Education Technology Assessment Subcommittee (2000-2003), and as track leader for the Practice Management and Information Technology track (2003-2004 and 2005-2006). He has also served as chair of the Information Technology Committee (1996-2000) and a member of the Strategic Planning Committee (2001-2002). For his service to ASCO, Dr. Blayney received the Board of Directors Appreciation Award in 2003 and the ASCO Statesman Award in 2007.

In addition to his work with ASCO, Dr. Blayney is an active member of the American Society of Hematology and the Southwest Oncology Group. He formerly served as the founding treasurer and as a member of the Board of Directors of the Medical Oncology Association of Southern California. Currently, Dr. Blayney serves on the Board of Directors of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network and is also a member of the NCCN Myeloid Growth Factor Guideline Panel. He has authored or co-authored more than 50 peer reviewed journal articles and other publications.

In related news, Theodore S. Lawrence, M.D., Ph.D., the Isadore Lampe Professor and Chair in the U-M Department of Radiation Oncology, was one of two members elected to the ASCO Nominating Committee. He will serve for three years beginning in June, including a one-year term as chair of the committee in 2010-2011.


Return to top

Small Text SizeMedium Text SizeLarge Text Size
Adjust text size

Speak with a Cancer nurse: 1-800-865-1125
make a donation
Please note: The articles listed in the Cancer Center's News Archive are here for historical purposes. The information and links may no longer be up-to-date.